Evocative Greek Word

I count it all rubbish, if you know what I mean.

The Role of Women at Dinner Parties.

leave a comment »

I’m sitting at dinner, at a table full of friends, not least of which are two new ones. A man and a woman, whom I’d met that night. The one woman had been in ministry for some time, the man was a grad student at Fuller.

They both, although predominantly the Fuller guy, begin talking about the role of women in the church. He especially grows more and more excited at the historical injustice, “The attributes of God transcend…” this, and “cultural context” that.

I’m not sure that I entirely disagree with him. But this was neither a time nor a place to be even handed, nor to engage in meaningful dialogue of ideas for the edification of the Body.

So when the conversation had more or less moved on, I finally opened my mouth, to lean in and say, “I just want you both to know, that despite the fact that I haven’t said much during this conversation, doesn’t mean I don’t hate women. I do. But I hate them all equally.”

File Under: You only get to make a first impression once.

Written by Glen

September 4, 2009 at 4:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

